Land Boundary Agreement Kya Hai

However, there have been some arguments about this award. An agreement between India and Bangladesh was signed on 16 May 1974 and a solution to the dispute was decided. The India-Bangladesh enclaves, also known as Chimahals (Bengali: ছিটমহল Chimehel[2][2][3][3])[3])[3])[3])[3]) and sometimes also called Pacha enclaves[5] were the enclaves along the border between Bangladesh and India, Bangladesh and the Indian states of West Bengal, Tripura, Assam and Meghalaya. In Bangladesh`s main body, there were 102 enclaves in Indian territory, containing 21 bangladeshe enclaves, one of which contained an Indian counter-enclave — the only third-rate enclave in the world. In mainland India there were 71 Bangladeshi enclaves with 3 Indian counter-enclaves. A joint census in 2010 revealed 51,549 people living in these enclaves: 37,334 in Indian enclaves inside Bangladesh and 14,215 in the enclaves of Bangladesh in India. [3] [6] The State took the initiative to redistribute the land among the inhabitants of the enclave, and this was the way to survey the land, with the state beginning to measure the country, as proclaimed by the inhabitants of the enclave as their own. This leaves the enclave in displeasure, as no legal document has yet been presented to them proving that you have been handed over the land ownership. India and Bangladesh have a common border of about 4096.7 kilometres. The land border between the Indian border and then eastern Pakistan was determined by the 1974 Radcliffe Prize. The 2015 LBA was signed on 6 June 2015 in Bangladesh. [1] The historic agreement facilitated the transfer of 111 enclaves from India to Bangladesh at 17,160.63 hectares.

In contrast, India received 51 enclaves, or 7,110.02 hectares in Bangladesh (see annexes 1 and 2). Prior to this historic agreement, the protocol signed in 2011 between Manmohan Singh (India) and Sheikh Hasina (Bangladesh) was agreed, maintaining the status quo in dealing with the issue of unfavourable land holdings, with India receiving 2,777,038 hectares of Land from Bangladesh (see Appendix 3) and transferring 2,267,682 hectares of land to Bangladesh (see Appendix 4). [2] The 2011 Protocol was established in agreement with the governments of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and West Bengal, but could not be implemented due to adverse political circumstances. Thus, in 2015, the LBA implements the unresolved problems resulting from the unmarcated land border – about 6.1 km long – in three sectors. B including daikhata-56 (West Bengal), Muhuri River-Belonia (Tripura) and Lathitila-Dumabari (Assam); The exchange of enclaves; and the harmful property that was first dealt with in the 2011 protocol. [3] It is important to note that Bangladesh has gained more territory in exchange for land than India. The Prime Ministers of India and Bangladesh signed the land border agreement in 1974 to exchange enclaves and simplify their international border. A revised version of the agreement was adopted by both countries on May 7, 2015, when the Indian Parliament passed the 100th Amendment to the Indian Constitution. [7] Under this agreement, ratified on 6 June 2015, India received 51 enclaves from Bangladesh (with an area of 2,880 ha) in mainland India, while Bangladesh received 111 Indian enclaves (with an area of 6,940 ha) on the Indian continent.

[9] The inhabitants of the enclave were allowed to either live in their present place or settle in the country of their choice. [10] The replacement of the enclaves is expected to take place in stages between 31 July 2015 and 30 June 2016. [11] The enclaves were replaced at midnight on 31 July 2015 and the transfer of the inhabitants of the enclave was completed on 30 November 2015. [12] Under the border agreement, India lost about 40 square kilometres in Bangladesh. [13] [14] BJP and Trinamool had strongly opposed this agreement in previous cases.